Pirovac is a lively, very beautiful town with many natural endowments. Industrious hands of few inhabitants ornamented it through past centuries with historic monuments of lasting value. It is situated at the farthest western point of the county of Sibenik and Knin. Pirovac is a municipal centre and, next to Primosten, Vodice, Murter, the most important municipal tourist centre of the Sibenik riviera. Mild climate, well-indented coast, numerous coves and sandy beaches, vegetation, pine forests and centenary olive-groves, clean and warm sea, magnificent sunsets, beauty of the coastal region – guarantee unique delights and experiences to all visitors of Pirovac.
Beautiful coves, Sitnica, Vrulje, Makirina and Vrilo with their pebbly beaches and clear sea are very charming and a special attraction is the islet of Sustipanac, situated right in front of Pirovac, where you can relax and enjoy swimming and sun tanning. In cove Makirina sites of peloid mud were found. This mud is very curative.
Pirovac is very close to two National Parks – “Kornati” and “Krka” and it is only 5 kilometres away from the Park of Nature “Vransko jezero”, which is very suitable for recreational fishing.
Via the Adriatic Highway Pirovac is connected with cultural and historical centres, such as Sibenik, Zadar, Trogir and Split.
Till the present day signs of stormy and rich past of first-class cultural and monumental value were preserved. They are a result of many past centuries remembered by tenacious resistance to foreign conquerors and hard-working citizens.
These are mentioned as the most valuable remnants: defensive walls that surrounded Pirovac from all four sides, built at the beginning of the 16th century (1505) whose remains are still visible at the northern side; town gates, which are still known for its strength and beauty, with a bascule bridge that was raised during the night and which was, due to its ruinous state, demolished at the end of the nineteenth century (1884), as well as the walls.
Also, there is a parish church of Gospa Karmelska built in the late 1506, renovated and reconstructed in 1832; a chapel at the old Pirovac graveyard from the 15th century that was built, as well as the walls and Sv. Juraj church, by the most influential family of Pirovac, Draganic-Vrancic. In the chapel there is a sarcophagus with a relief (1447) made by Andrija Budicic from Sibenik and Lorenzo Pincin from Venice, a master from an eminent group of architects of the great Sibenik cathedral.
Pirovac – this small town was first mentioned in the year 1298 and was known as Zloselo. It belonged to the noblemen from Bribir – the Subic family and later it became the property of the Sibenik Diocese and some noblemen from Sibenik.
The settlement itself was founded in the 15th ct. by the refugees who fled from the Turks. Nevertheless, this area was inhabited many centuries earlier than that which can be proved by the remnants of the Roman settlements found on the islet of St.Stephen. Many other historical monuments tell us about the gradual settlement and development of this place.
The defence wall, erected around 1505 by Petar Draganic, has been partly preserved in the village. The parish church of St. George from 1506 was restored in Baroque style in the 18th century.
The graveyard chapel of the Draganic-Vrancic family features a Gothic sarcophagus with a relief made in 1447 by Andrija Budcic from Sibenik and Lorenzo Pincino from Venice, according to the sketches by Juraj Dalmatinac (George the Dalmatian). Roman artefacts have been found on the islet of Sveti Stjepan (St. Stephen) (Sustipanac) in front of the village; here are also the -ruins of a Franciscan monastery (from 1511), which was abandoned in 1807.